top of page

An Acrostic Attitude of Gratitude


In honor of my firstborn son’s first Thanksgiving I dedicate this absolutely silly but sincere poem:



For Thanksgiving this November 28, 2019 I am grateful to God for:


Mom”: your favorite word when hungry or tired- that you seek me out for comfort.


Active: you crawl quickly down the hallway towards your daddy’s office to sneak some snuggles.


Teeth: your two bottom choppers that you love to gnaw with especially on fingers and books.


Touch: the feel of your soft baby rolls when I scrub soap all over you


Hugs: you squeeze your little but mighty arms around Mommy’s and Daddy’s necks resting your peach-fuzz head on our shoulders.


Eat: your smile when I give you a baby cracker or banana that you get to shove into your mouth with your strong little fingers


Work: you love to chase mommy in your walker when she sweeps or vacuums and help mommy by grabbing clean clothes out of the laundry basket to chew on.


Cuddles: when you snuggle in between mommy and daddy and crawl on our bed.


Open: drawers as you reach to grab the mostly dangerous treasures inside.


Up: your favorite direction as you pull up on tables, chairs, dressers, shelves and even your parents’ legs.


Trail: you love being outdoors, looking around as you are carried on hiking trails and pulling leaves off trees.


Unfazed: when sick with a fever or throwing up, you cry out your pain for a minute then just accept the suckles and cuddles from your mommy and daddy peacefully.


Read: you love books, looking at the pages, chewing on the corners and pulling books off the shelves.


Enough: the way you shake your head when you amore finished eating, or want to get out of your chair, or just want mommy to shake her head back to give you that bit of attention- grinning as I say, “no,no,no Matthew” as I nuzzle your little nose.


In other words, this Thanksgiving, I am thankful for all those little moments I spend with you, my son. 💕





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page